I Have A Bad Feeling About This

I may be the only Star Wars fan in the world NOT excited about the impending release of the newest movie in the franchise. Let me just say that I am a HUGE fan of the Star Wars movies. Like many young boys in 1977, seeing Star Wars changed my life. For a long time the original series was my favorite trilogy of all time. The Lord of the Rings had since taken the top spot, but there is no shame in being second.

On paper The Force Awakens sounds like a winner, J. J. Abrams directing, (his reboot of Star Trek a few years back stands as one of the best sci fi movies in a long time), and the return of Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill and Carrie Fisher. However, with each trailer that I have seen I have become less and less excited. The new characters hold no appeal, the new R2 unit, or whatever it is, looks silly. Although it may be cool to see Han, Luke, Leia and Chewbacca at least one more time, the trailers leave me cold. I would rather see an all new cast of characters. There have to be thousands of stories to tell in the Star Wars universe that do not include characters from the first six movies.

So, will I be going to see The Force Awakens?  Yes, I will, but my expections will be extremely low. The original Star Wars eventually became known as A New Hope, well I hope that the force is strong with this one.

One thought on “I Have A Bad Feeling About This

  1. You most certainly aren’t the only Star Wars fan who has no enthusiasm for the new release. After releasing the two least Star Trek-y Star Trek movies, JJ Abrams is about to release a rehash of Star Wars through his lens flare-filled, color-corrected filter. A rehash of movies that were, themselves, rehashes of other movies. So, consider me in the same crotchety, curmudgeonly boat with you. I’ll probably see it, but I’m not expecting much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

