The Force?

It’s official, mediocrity sells.  That’s not news to many of us. What am I speaking of?  Star Wars: The Force Awakens is now the #1 movie of all time in America.  The tickets sold have passed the $800 million mark!  If it continues on it’s current pace it will soon be the all time #1 movie worldwide. Just from a pure numbers stand point, what this movie is doing is incredible. Not bad for a so so movie.

I have spent most of my life as a big fan of the Star Wars movies.  Over the years I have seen them, especially The Empire Strikes Back, countless times.  I was fortunate enough as a young boy to have seen Star Wars in 1977, quite an experience.  I have seen The Force Awakens and it was my intention to return to the theater the following week or two and watch it again.  However, it just hasn’t happened.  I do not feel compelled to return for a second veiwing, at this time.  Did I enjoy The Force Awakens?  Yes I did, overall it was a fun sci fi adventure movie.  However, it really didn’t stay with me after it was over.  The movie came across a bit hollow, the overall story a bit tired and most of the new characters fell flat.  As inept as The Phantom Menace was it left more of an impression on me.  Qui-Gon Jinn, Darth Maul and a young Obi-Won Kenobi were all great additions to the Star Wars universe. When The Force Awakens dvd is released later this year I am sure that I will buy it.  Despite my so so feeling I am eager too see the sequel, but I will manage my expections.

This is all just the opinions of one lone Star Wars fan whose life was changed, A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away. For now Star Wars: Episode 7 is ruling the galaxy. Apparently the force is strong with this one and it has awakened a lot of fans to spend a ton of money.  But it almost feels like someone pulled a Jedi mind trick and convinced people that this was a great movie.

Leave a Reply

