The Super Bowl: Must See TV, Or Else

football-baseball-balls-sport-equipment-50673432

 

Football fans facinate me.  Generally speaking, regardless of what teams are playing the fans are watching.  With baseball this is not the case, baseball fans want to watch their team. This is especially true in the World Series.  My team’s not playing? I have no interest in watching. That seems to be the concensus amoung baseball fans.

This is far from the case with the Super Bowl, nearly every football fan is watching.  And now everybody else seems to watch the Super Bowl, whether they like football or not.  And to add to that they expect that everyone else is watching as well.  I haven’t watched since Super Bowl 42, which was an amazing game.  I do enjoy football, but I haven’t felt compelled to watch in a few years.  I am a huge baseball fan, so The World Series excites me, whether my team is playing or not.

Over the last few years, the Monday after Super Bowl Sunday, various people will ask me, “What did you think about the game?”  My response of, ” I didn’t watch the game” is rewarded by an incredulous look that basically says, ” You didn’t watch the game, what’s wrong with you?!?!” Just because everyone else is watching does not mean that I have to.  For me the conclusion of the Super Bowl means two things: football season is over and baseball season is just around the corner.

Leave a Reply

