Another Win For DC Comics TV

dc-legends-of-tomorrow-character-posters-feat-1024x341

  I have to admit that I was wrong. Late last year the next DC Comics superhero themed television show was announced. Following on the success of Arrow and The Flash would be DC’s Legends Of Tomorrow. A show featuring Rip Hunter, Firestorm, The Atom, Hawkman, Hawkgirl, White Canary, Captain Cold and Heat Wave. Really?!?! This seemed like a show that no one asked for and a team that no one wanted. I was beyond skeptical. Who would want to watch this silly show?

  When I watched the first episode I did so with VERY low expections. To my great surprise I actually enjoyed the show! Somehow this oddball, ragtag collection of heroes and villians wrapped up in a sci fi, time travel storyline works! My first impression, this seems to be DC’s attempt to replicate some of what made Marvel’s sci fi themed Guardians Of The Galaxy a success. Secondly, there is a surprising focus on the emotional side of the various characters and their back stories.

  I must say that four episodes in and I am really liking this show. I’m not sure how far they can take the time travelling premise.   I’ll worry about that later, in the meantime I plan to sit back and buckle up as the team travels through time attempting to defeat the immortal  Vandal Savage.  I am sure they will somehow work out a three part crossover with Arrow and The Flash. That could be fun!

Leave a Reply

