Led Zep – My 10 Favorite Songs

Just my opinion, but I feel that Led Zeppelin is the greatest rock band of all time. Their catalog defines well written, iconic songs, outstanding musicianship and extremely well produced albums. Add to that the fact that Jimmy Page seemingly wrote nearly every great guitar riff ever.  Has any rock band, besides The Beatles, been more influential on popular music?

All that being said I would consider myself a causal fan of the band.  I love many Zeppelin songs, however as great as they were there are other bands, many heavily influenced by Zeppelin, that appeal to me more. But that does not mean that I do not recognize their greatness. Over the years I have heard most of the band’s catalog, either through the cassettes and cds that I’ve owned or borrowed, as well as from the massive airplay that the band has gotten on rock stations in my area.

A few days ago I was reading an article on the recording and release of Presence, so of course I had to play the cd. Hard to believe that it was released 40 years ago.  That got me to thinking about my ten favorite Led Zeppelin songs.  Here they are, in no particular order.

The Immigrant Song – Short and sweet, 2 minutes and 24 seconds of metallic fury.  As an aside, Stryper recently recorded a great cover version.

Nobody’s Fault But Mine – So heavy, how did Page write SO many great riffs?

Kashmir – I consider Kashmir, and not Stairway To Heaven, to be the band’s best song.  That riff is so hypnotic.

Bring It On Home -A great example of Page’s guitar army, massive guitar riffage here.

The Ocean – One of the best guitar riffs ever.

The Song Remains The Same – Such a great prog rock track.

No Quarter – I always loved this song’s atmosphere.

Dancing Days – Great guitar riffage, along with Plant’s incredibly cool vocal make for an amazing tune.

All Of My Love – The band didn’t need heavy guitars to be great. Includes some very tasty, understated guitar work from Page.

Fool In The Rain – Like so many of Zep’s songs this one has an incredible groove.  Another great vocal from Plant.

Leave a Reply

