Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D., A Reevaluation

I am currently in the process of rewatching the first season of Marvel’s Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D. With the third season winding down and the impending release of Captain America: Civil War, it felt like a good time to reevaluate the series. Six episodes in, so far, and I am enjoying the first season much more than when it first aired.

I must say that my expections of what I thought the show was going to be really lead to an initial letdown. Overall Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D. is a character driven show that happens to be set in the Marvel universe.  I was expecting a fast paced show full of action and super powered heroes and villians.  At times there is a great deal of action and the appearance of super powered characters, but these are not always the main elements. The main thrust of the show is the characters, the slow reveal of their back stories and how they work together as a team.

It’s quite interesting rewatching the character development of the team from the begining knowing where they will wind up in seasons 2 and 3. In some way each member of the team has been through hell.  Each has grown, for better or worse, into drastically different versions of themselves throughout the show’s run.

There is some debate about one of the major plot twists in season one. Some feel that it was written in later, in reaction to the storyline of Captain America: The Winter Soldier. But there seem to be subtle hints that perhaps the twist was planned all along.  If the twist was intended from the begining than major kudos to the writers.

To date Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D. has been a very enjoyable show that has improved greatly with each new season. It is a nice piece of the ever growing Marvel cinematic universe.  It is also on a short list of my  must watch television shows.  Here’s to hoping that the series will continue to improve and have a long run.

3 thoughts on “Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D., A Reevaluation

  1. Yeha, I noticed the same thing when I rewatched the first season after season 2 had aired. So much in it hints to stuff which becomes meaningful later, at times it seems as if the writers were deliberately trolling the audience by dropping hints left and right. Especially the talk between Coulson and Ward that you can’t rescue everyone has so much more meaning now than it had back then.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to see another fan of the show. I have watched a few more episodes since I last posted. I had forgotten the episode tying in with the aftermath of Thor: The Dark World.

      Like

      1. It is pretty forgettable overall, though I do appreciate that the show runners still treat the first season as canon instead of pretending that it never happened.

        Like

Leave a Reply

