Blade Runner – New Questions

I was driving earlier today, recounting a rather long and vivid dream that I had last night. This dream got me to thinking about one of the quieter scenes in the movie Blade Runner and some questions that never crossed my mind before.

In the movie, after Zhora and Leon are “retired”, Rachael and Deckard retreat back to his apartment. After some talk Deckard cleans up his wounds and winds up falling asleep. Rachael sits down at Deckard’s piano and begins to play. Deckard slowly awakens, approaches Rachael at the piano and says, “I dreamt music”. Rachael plays again and replies, ” I didn’t know if I could play. I remember lessons, I don’t know if it’s me or Tyrell’s niece.”

This got me thinking, what childhood memories would she have besides Tyrell’s niece? Would she be able to read music and play piano based solely on the implanted memories or was this a built in replicant ability? Bryant refered to her as a Nexus 6 and Tyrell stated that she was an experiment. That’s pretty much all that we know about Rachael. As a replicant we do not know her Incept Date, her Function or her Mental and Physical Levels. Are replicants able to learn new skills on the fly, or are all of their abilities programmed?

One of the many great things about Blade Runner is that even after many repeated viewing over the years you still see new things. You still may have new and unanswered questions. These questions continue to help keep the movie fresh and inspire yet another viewing.

Leave a Reply

