Harrison Ford’s 21st Century Trifecta

The teaser trailer for Blade Runner 2049 was just released. The trailer offers the first glimpses of  an older Rick Deckard and the movie’s release date, 10/06/2017. Upon it’s release Blade Runner 2049 will complete Harrison Ford’s 21st century trifecta. The trifecta being Ford revisiting his three most iconic movie characters: Indiana Jones in 2008, Han Solo in 2015 and now Rick Deckard in 2017.

header-indybig

I welcomed his return as Indiana Jones with open arms. The original Indiana Jones trilogy was all that one could ask for in action and adventure moviemaking. Yet there was still a desire in me for more from this great character. It felt like there was some unfinished business. The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull was a fun and satisfying way to see the character off. For me his adventures, as portrayed by Harrison Ford, now felt complete. But I am open to the role being recast, with the right young actor.

nel6kerttoqhpo_1_b

Ford’s return as Han Solo in The Force Awakens is a different story. The original Star Wars trilogy felt complete to me. There was a window of time in the late 1980’s where another trilogy, post Return Of The Jedi, felt right. But as time moved on and the actors grew older I felt that the limited window had closed. As a fan I was not clamoring to see an aging Han Solo. I understand the force of nostalgia, but I was good with the memories of a young Han Solo. The Force Awakens obviously proved that  I was in the minority. I must admit that it was good to see Han Solo, Chewbacca, Princess Leia and Luke Skywalker on the big screen again. However, the only character that really made sense being involved in a new Star Wars movie was Luke Skywalker. But, that’s just one fan’s opinion.

ht-blade-runner-2049-jef-161219_31x13_1600

The world of Blade Runner is wide open with possibilities. Rick Deckard is just one of a group of Blade Runners, so the story possibilities are vast. After viewing the teaser trailer I am now a bit excited and intrigued. Seeing Ford as Deckard, at least one more time, should be a thrill. I am still keeping my expectations low, but I do look forward to this long awaited sequel. Whether he is involved in further Blade Runner movies remains to be seen.

Troy T.

 

2 thoughts on “Harrison Ford’s 21st Century Trifecta

Leave a Reply

