Goodbye Princess Leia Organa

Wow, what can be said, Carrie Fisher has passed away. Like so many my age I can honestly say that the original Star Wars trilogy changed my life. There are not many movies that I would say that about. Seeing Star Wars in 1977 as a seven year old boy was quite an eye opening and mind expanding experience. A big part of that experience was of course due to Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia. I did not have a crush on her as many fans did. I was to busy wanting to be like Luke Skywalker. But there is no doubt that she was an attractive and vibrant woman.

tumblr_inline_nvocl7n1io1tqs2vm_1280
A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return Of The Jedi are films that I have viewed numerous times since their first release. I count myself fortunate that I was old enough to see the films in the theater on their initial release. I would rate them, especially The Empire Strikes Back, among my favorite movies. Princess Leia’s part is so pivotal to the films. Whether she was in the role of a member of the Imperial Senate, a leader of the Rebel Alliance, Han Solo’s love interest or Luke Skywalker’s twin sister, her part was so important to the success of the trilogy.

the-empire-strikes-back-carrie-fisher

The prequels and the two most recent Star Wars films have built on Leia’s legacy. They have offered portrayals of strong, confident women. Padme Amidala, Rey and most recently Jyn Erso have followed in Leia’s footsteps. However, I would say that none of them will have the same impact as Princess Leia.

rotj_han-and-leia

Goodbye Leia Organa.  Goodbye Carrie Fisher.  Many of us may have first met you in a galaxy far, far away…… but you have left us far too soon.

One thought on “Goodbye Princess Leia Organa

Leave a Reply

