Phil Collins – In The Open Air

Phil-Collins-kicks-off-the-2016-US-Open-at-Arthur-Ashe-stadium_8_1

Words can not express how great is was to see Phil Collins perform tonight at the opening of the US Open. For those who may not have seen it he performed two songs, In The Air Tonight and Easy Lover. This continues his slow emergence from retirement. As I was watching I couldn’t help but think if Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford were watching.

It is apparent that Phil is still recovering from his recent surgeries. As great as it was to see him tonight it was also a little bittersweet because he looks a bit older than his 65 years. I know that no one stays young forever, but it can be hard to watch your heroes grow old. Despite his appearance he sounded great and he sang with great passion. His band was amazing, especially Daryl Stuermer on guitar. Special mention must be made for his teenage son Nick who handled the drums like a pro.

What’s next for Phil? Only time will tell. For me, as a huge fan, I would love another solo album and one more Genesis album. I think asking for a tour at this time is a bit too much to ask. If, however, there is no new music in the future I’m fine with that. Phil Collins has provided me with thirty plus years of enjoyment through his music. So much of his music has been and continues to be part of the soundtrack of my life. He has given up so much for his love of music: marriages, family time and ultimately aspects of his health. Speaking as a fan, this man owes me nothing at all, he has already willingly given so much of himself and his life.  Here’s to many years of healing, health and happiness to one of my biggest music heroes.

Phil-Collins-kicks-off-the-2016-US-Open-at-Arthur-Ashe-stadium_5_1

8 thoughts on “Phil Collins – In The Open Air

  1. So you are a fan, too? I have enjoyed the music for 30 some years. Being the same age as Phil, I hope he continues to pop up now and then. ‘You can’t hurry Love’ is a favorite. Glad you watched him. I watched, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Been a fan since 1981. Doubly blessed to be introduced to his solo music at the same time as his music with Genesis. MTV was playing videos from Face Value, Abacab, And Then There Were Three and Duke. Plus a local rock station was playing a lot from Abacab.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks to youtube I can binge watch the concerts. Tech is a grand thing. Thanks for the like and for the reply. I appreciate the fact that you took time from your day to write. Kindness is a rare quality these days.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Well Phil you are a legend I would to hear a new stuff and a new album I am sure you do it proud I am a big fan for over 30 years your music will be played forever God bless …

    Like

  3. Well Phil you are a legend I would to hear a new stuff and a new album I am sure you do it proud I am a big for over 30 years your music will be played forever God bless …

    Like

Leave a comment