Harrison Ford: A Long Time Ago

Many-Faces-of-Harry-Ford

A big Happy 74th Birthday to my favorite actor, Harrison Ford. He has had an amazing film career spanning five plus decades that is far from over. I have been a huge fan since 1977 when he appeared in a little film called Star Wars. I feel very fortunate to have witnessed his growth from Han Solo into arguably the biggest movie star in the world during the 1980’s and 90’s.

Throughout the bulk of his career it is apparent, based on the earnings of his many films, that fans prefer to see him playing an action hero. That being said, he has appeared in some criminally overlooked movies throughout his career. Movies such as The Mosquito Coast, Frantic, Regarding Henry, Hollywood Homicide, Firewall, Paranoia and The Age Of Adaline. They may not all be classics, but they showcase a different side of Harrison Ford. As great as he is in action oriented pictures he is just as capable in dramas and comedies. If you have not seen any of these lesser known films I would highly recommend them.

Below, in no particular order, are my ten favorite Harrison Ford movies.

Blade Runner (1982) – A timeless classic, a movie like no other. Whether you watch the version with the voiceover or without it’s still a great, iconic film.

The Empire Strikes Back (1980) – The greatest Star Wars movie, and Han Solo at his best.

Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981) – As great as Han Solo and Rick Deckard are, I believe that Indiana Jones is Harrison Ford’s greatest movie character.

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989) – Harrison Ford and Sean Connery are absolutely fantastic together, one of the great pairing in movie history.

Firewall (2006) – I know that I am in the minority, but I really love this movie, a throw back to the action movies of the 1980’s and 90’s. He may be grey, but he’s still the man. A tense action drama that builds to a satisfying conclusion.

Presumed Innocent (1990) – Far from a perfect movie, but a great cast and a phenomenal performance by Harrison Ford.

Regarding Henry (1991) – A big change of pace from the action hero audiences were used too, but his performance is emotional and heartwarming.

Indiana Jones And The Temple Of Doom (1984) – A bit darker than the other Indiana Jones movies, but this is prime time Indy.

The Fugitive (1993) – A roller coaster ride of action and drama from Mr. Ford.

The Mosquito Coast (1986) – What a shame that barely anyone saw this movie. He was nominated for an Oscar but failed to win. For me this is his best acting performance to date.

5 thoughts on “Harrison Ford: A Long Time Ago

    1. Firewall came and went. It made about 48 million, which is a disappointment for a Harrison Ford movie. His overall box office had been on the decline for awhile at that time. Like I said I love this movie, just watched it again a few weeks ago.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t mean that I’d only seen those two, but those are two of the ones I like best 🙂
        Oh you MUST watch it, it’s fantastic. One of my favorite Gene Hackman performances.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment